Benilde students win at CCP Gawad Alternatibo

Students of De La Salle-College of Saint Benilde (DLS-CSB) took home five of six top awards in the Animation category at the recently concluded 28th Gawad CCP Para sa Alternatibong Pelikula at Video (Gawad Alternatibo).

Held alongside this year’s 12th Cinemalaya Philippine Independent Film Festival, the Gawad Alternatibo is considered to be the longest running independent film competition of its kind in the Asian region. Since 1987, it annually cites the best efforts of Filipino filmmakers in four categories, namely Animation, Experimental, Documentary and Short Feature.

Jean Tagyamon’s Lola Loleng animation which won the grand prize

The grand prize in the Animation category was won by University of the Philippines’ Jean Cheryl Tagyamon’s Lola Loleng, which tackles the idea of memory and forgetting.

DLS-CSB’s Renz Vincent Cruz and Hannah Darly Gayapa won second prize for their feature The Passage of Life, which deals with a mother-daughter conflict.

The Passage of Life by Renz Vincent Cruz and Hannah Darly Gayapa

On the other hand, Kuenzang Dorji’s A Yeti Story, which talks about friendship and forgiving one’s enemies, received third place.

Three Bnildeans entries were likewise given honorable mentions. Chih-Chiang Wei’s Power Up tells the story of an astronaut who lives alone in a cold planet and his search for a star that would power his space ship. Erika Chelsea Oleta’s Sweet Victory follows a young boy’s obsession with a cupcake at a party and the turn of events that occurs. Patricia Camino’s Paper Cut discusses the struggle between ink and colored illustrations among three paper doll artists.

Kuenzang Dorji’s A Yeti Story talks about friendship and forgiving one’s enemies

Aside from the main awards, special citations are also given out to the best work from the regions, as well as dedicated efforts on, for, and by children. Winners received cash prizes and certificates. Many of today’s outstanding filmmakers have participated in the past, and have continuously and constantly won throughout the years.

Topics: Jean Cheryl Tagyamon , Renz Vincent Cruz , Hannah Darly Gayapa , Kuenzang Dorji , Chih-Chiang Wei , Erika Chelsea Oleta , Patricia Camino , DLS-CSB , 28th Gawad CCP Para sa Alternatibong Pelikula at Video(Gawad Alternatibo) , 12th Cinemalaya Philippine Independent
COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.