OAV sets record turnout

The number of Filipinos living and working abroad who were able to cast their votes for the 2016  presidential elections reached a new record,  according to the chief overseas voting secretariat of the Department of Foreign Affairs.

DFA  overseas voting secretariat chief Edgardo Castro said that his committee and Comelec  Commissioner Arthur Lim, chief of the OAV Steering Committee, set  a   voters’ turnout of  407,000.

 “Official data was 407,000 out of 1.3-registered voters,” Castro said at the National Canvassing Center.

Castro said that the voters’ turnout this year   broke the 12-year record, surpassing the turnout of 233,000 Filipinos  who voted in 2004.

“But just remember what we are looking at is a high record of 233,000 in 2004, we have practically doubled that,” Castro told the reporters in an interview.

He attributed the record to the  Comelec’s aggressive campaign during the  registration period.

The OAV panel garnered 1.3-million registered  voters, surpassing the  737,000 overseas individuals who were  listed in 2013.

In the 2010 election, the voter turnout was 146,650 or 24.86 percent while in 2013, there were 112,110   individuals who voted.

The law mandated a month-long overseas absentee voting which opened last   April 9   in 95 Philippine posts worldwide.

In the OAV arena, presumptive president Rodrigo Duterte and Ferdinand “Bongbong” Mrcos Jr. led the presidential and vice presidential race.

At least  0.64 percent of OAV votes reached the transparency server of the Comelec at the National Canvassing Center in Pasay City.

Based  on  the unofficial report, Duterte  garnered 5,096 votes from Filipino living and working abroad,  followed by Senator Miriam Defensor-Santiago with 999; Liberal Party standard bearer Manuel Roxas came  third with 708 votes; Senator Grace Poe,  507;    and Vice President Jejomar Binay, 157 votes.

In  the vice presidential race, Marcos was the overseas Filipinos’ top bet so far with 3,673 votes. Trailing him was  Senator Alan Peter Cayetano with 2,553 votes while LP bet Leni Robredo  was   third with 896 votes. Senators Francis Escudero, Antonio Trillanes IV and Gregorio Honasan had    249, 54, 34 votes, respectively.

 In the Senatorial contest,  LP’s  Emmanuel Joel Villanueva led the race with 4,293 votes. Trailing  was Emmanuel Pacquiao with 3,790; Francis Pangilinan, 3,703; Richard Gordon, 3,176; Franklin Drilon, 3,56; Vicente Sotto III ,  3,078; Ralph Recto, 2,938; Sergio Osemeña III, 2,921; Neri Colmenares 2,661; Maria Susana Ople,  2,637; Panfilo Lacson,  2,586; and, Juan Miguel Zubiri, 2,343.

Topics: OAV , overseas voting , Department of Foreign Affairs , DFA

Related stories:

No related stories matched this topic.

COMMENT DISCLAIMER: Reader comments posted on this Web site are not in any way endorsed by Manila Standard. Comments are views by readers who exercise their right to free expression and they do not necessarily represent or reflect the position or viewpoint of While reserving this publication’s right to delete comments that are deemed offensive, indecent or inconsistent with Manila Standard editorial standards, Manila Standard may not be held liable for any false information posted by readers in this comments section.